Exams and Qualifications

MRCP: Specialty Certificate Examinations


A closer look at Specialty Certificate Examinations (SCEs)

What is an SCE?

Specialty Certificate Examinations (SCEs) offer physicians a postgraduate qualification which demonstrates to prospective employers achievement of a standard required of UK specialist trainees.

The purpose of the SCEs is to ensure that certified specialists have sufficient knowledge of their specialty to practice safely and competently as Consultants.

The specialties that SCEs are available in

Specialty Certificate Examinations are available in:

  • Acute Medicine
  • Dermatology
  • Endocrinology and Diabetes
  • European Specialty Examination in Gastroenterology & Hepatology
  • Geriatric Medicine
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Medical Oncology
  • European Specialty Examination in Nephrology
  • Neurology
  • Palliative Medicine
  • Respiratory Medicine
  • Rheumatology

Examination format

The SCEs are conducted as computer-based tests. They comprise of two 3-hour papers each containing 100 ‘best-of-five’ questions.

SCE sample questions

To help you prepare for the type of question which will arise in your examination, you can find sample questions by clicking the relevant specialty below:

When should you take a Specialty Certificate Examination?

There are currently no eligibility requirements for international candidates, although it is recommended that you take a SCE towards the end of your higher specialist training.

Typically, you would take a Specialty Certificate Examination following completion of the MRCP(UK) examinations however, it’s not a prerequisite.

For UK trainees, a Specialty Certificate Examination is now a compulsory component of assessment for Certificate of Completion of Training (CCT).

Exam dates, locations and fees

Specialty Certificate Examination dates can be found here.

Candidates wanting to take a Specialty Certificate Examination can do so both in the UK and internationally.

For details of the locations where SCEs can be taken in the UK, click here.

Candidates wanting to take their examination in an international centre are given a choice of regions from which to select, and are then asked to nominate a particular city in that region as the desired location for their test.

Confirmation of the final test centre details will be sent to candidates via email at least three weeks before the date of the examination. In the unlikely event an SCE is unable to be delivered in the specific location requested, candidates will be offered a choice of the nearest available test centres.

To date, SCEs have been taken in:

Australia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, China, Canada, Egypt, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Holland, Hong Kong, India, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Libya, Malaysia, Malta, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Republic of Ireland, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Trinidad, Turkey, UAE, Uganda, USA, Vietnam, Yemen, Zimbabwe.

The examination fees are detailed below:

International   £833  

If you’re taking an SCE and are looking to secure a post in the UK, contact our team to discuss your situation – and the opportunities available to you – in further detail.